So I have been looking at the way in which dialect is important in making us, who, and what we are .

 ( I know I can get all deep, and serious eh ?  )

 Speech bonds us together, it is the glue of life, so here is a collection of words / phrases, that I have not heard for a while, and thought were amusing,  or just good to hear again, now I live away from Gods own country, – Yorkshire. Or the Socialst Republic of South Yorkshire, as some others would call it ! hahaha

” Wang it ! ”      — Hit it !

” Chunter ” – mumble

” Gotta monk on ”  – In a mood

“Nahden ”  – Now then.

“it’s black over Bill’s mothers ” It’s going to rain.

” Yawanowt” – Do you want anything

” Put wood in ‘ole ”  –  Shut the door.

“Roorin’ ” –  crying

“bobbar ” – poo

” Mardy arse ”  – miserable

” nesh ” – cold

“chudda ”  – chewing gum

” Throng ”  – busy

” Fod ” – food

” Crosseld ”  – burnt

” togger ”  – football

” faff about ” – mess about

” sup up ”  – drink up !

” causey edge ”  – pavement

” spice ”  –  sweets

“pot”    as in i’ve broken my arm , and got a pot on it ! – cast if you want to be posh !!

Hope you enjoyed, 

more to follow soon hopefully

